Kevin Hart: What Now? (2016)

What I watched: Kevin Hart: What Now? (2016)

How I watched: Cinema

Dinner: Popcorn, pop, Reese’s peanut butter cups

kevin_hart_what_nowSynopsis: Kevin Hart performs his latest set to 50 000 people in Lincoln Financial Field.

Why I watched: Limited options at the theatre.

Notes: The cinematic release of this film was overplayed within the film itself with the opening. It was cute at first, the parody of a Bond movie (complete with opening song) reminded me that I do like Kevin Hart, in movies.

The thing is, I don’t like Hart’s standup, and the set in this film was no different. It makes me sound like a standup elitist, but his shows are so flashy and their content a bit repetitive. I wonder also if Hart’s comedy is a bit too inward. It seems his entire set was about his mansion life with his family, lots of jokes about his daughter, father, son and girlfriend, and almost entirely set at his home. It makes me think maybe Hart doesn’t get out much anymore. I could be wrong, I just don’t find his humour relatable. Is it because I’m a white girl? Hmm.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy this movie, to be honest it was funnier than I expected. But there were parts that made me wince slightly. It was alright but doesn’t sufficiently demonstrate that stand up is ready for the big screen treatment.

Recommend: No. Unless you’re a big fan of Kevin Hart’s stand-up. I’m sure it will turn up on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

