Stranger Things: “Chapter Two: The Weirdo on Maple Street”

What I watched: Stranger Things: “Chapter Two: The Weirdo on Maple Street” (original air date: July 15, 2016)

How I watched: Netflix

Snacks: Candy
screen-shot-2016-07-29-at-8-30-36-pm-650x378Synopsis: The young girl, Eleven, hides out at the home of Will’s best friend, Mike. Mike’s older sister Nancy drags her best friend Barb to a no-parents party with some of the cool kids. When the party becomes romantically charged, Nancy sends annoyed Barb home so she can have some alone time with hunky Steve. Barb proceeds to be attacked by the same monster that attacked Will Byers and she too vanishes. The party and moments preceding Barb’s disappearance are caught on camera by Will’s older brother Jonathan.

Why I watched: Having a mini-binge with a friend who loves the show.

Notes: Things certainly ramp up in this episode. I start to find myself hating Nancy and Steve and his friends, thinking Jonathan is a creep and Joyce (Will’s mom) definitely crazy. I don’t know yet that everything isn’t happening in the minds of these characters. I find it surprising how much initiative the kids are taking in finding missing Will, this doesn’t happen in real life does it?

The party at the “cool kids” house throws into sharp relief how different my own high school experience was. To me, these characters are neanderthals. I don’t know if these people exist in real life or are just pop culture archetypes.

Recommend: Yes.

Leave a Reply

