Have I Got News For You: S52E04

What I watched: Have I Got News For You: S52E04 (original air date: October 28, 2016)

How I watched: YouTube

Snacks: None

have-i-got-news-for-you-s52e04Synopsis: Irreverent comedy political quiz show which highlights (and makes fun of) headline news and political gaffs of the past week.

Why I watched: This is one of my preferred before-bed shows and a new season is currently airing.

Notes: Yes, this episode was hosted by David Mitchell (at this point it may seem like I am obsessed, and at various times in my life I have been, but I cannot help that he has hosted the latest episode of a show I am currently watching. Furthermore, YouTube is more responsible for these spirals than I do, “oh you like David Mitchell? We can give you David Mitchell…”).

Another revelation in this week’s episode was leaked comments that Prime Minister Theresa May made in a (pre-Brexit) Goldman Sachs talk that revealed her concerns with the economic repercussions of Brexit. This stood out to me only because only last month the exact same scenario played out as part of the US Presidential campaign in which Hillary Clinton’s speech to Goldman Sachs was also leaked (the material here however had nothing to do with Brexit). Comparisons drawn: both leaks show these women in top political jobs as being two-faced when it comes to Big Banking, and both of these scandals I would have paid no attention to if it wasn’t women involved.

Recommend: Yes. Especially if you like politics.

Leave a Reply

