Stranger Things: “Chapter Eight: The Upside Down”

What I watched: Stranger Things: “Chapter Eight: The Upside Down” (original air date: July 15, 2016)

How I watched: Streamed

Snacks: Halloween candy
640Synopsis: Hopper gives up Eleven’s location in exchange for being allowed to explore the Upside Down with Joyce and hopefully retrieve Will. Nancy and Jonathan return to the Byers home to try and defeat the monster, Steve helps them but the trio are unsuccessful and the monster escapes. Mike invites El to the school ball and the monster arrives and attacks them and the other boys. El says goodbye to Mike and disappears with the monster. An epilogue shows where the characters are a month later.

Why I watched: Finishing up the series for Halloween!

Notes: I loved that the series had an epilogue and – without getting into too many specifics – I loved how this first series ended. One thing I really liked about this episode was the evolution of the Jonathan-Nancy-Steve triangle which ended atypically. I liked that, rather than Nancy choosing the underdog white knight in shining armour upon learning that the high school hero is a jerk, the high school hero worked to earn her respect and became a decent person in the end. I really liked that Steve had a character arc and wasn’t a one-dimensional character (although his only motivations throughout the series were Nancy-related).

Ultimately I did not find myself obsessing over this series, but I did quite like it.

Recommend: Yes.

Leave a Reply

