THE BEATLES: EIGHT DAYS A WEEK – THE TOURING YEARS (2016)

What I watched: The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years (2016)

How I watched: Cinema

Drinks: Cabernet merlot
thebeatles_eightdaysaweek_a4Synopsis: Documentary film by Ron Howard covering the early Beatles years, the highs and lows of touring at the height of Beatlemania and the band’s ultimate decision to stop touring altogether.

Why I watched: It was playing at the Film House and mom really wanted to see it.

Notes: My relationship with the Beatles went from an obsession in junior high when the 1 album was released to wanting nothing to do with them (or at least, the works of theirs that I wasn’t familiar with) when my younger sister became obsessed with them in her high school years.

I took a break from not caring in the months before the LOVE album was released, I loved that album and longed to see the show live (this never happened). Around this time, YouTube came on the scene, and when I started to appreciate this website, I decided that in that future someday when I had all the time in the world, I would use YouTube to track down and watch all the Beatles interviews and clips (both together and independent) and concert videos I could find. I must have realized even then that such an undertaking could only be manageable when all the time in the world was available to me. I would actively avoid watching these types of videos until that point, in a desire to “save it” for the future someday. My mom promised me that this movie would contain a lot of “previously unseen” footage and interviews. Not that this matters to me as I haven’t seen a heck of a lot.

This movie was revelatory to me for two reasons, and they are definitely not news items, but stem from my Beatles ignorance: 1) that the Beatles hype coincided with the adolescence of the baby boomers, when teens actually outnumbered any other age group and 2) that the Beatles didn’t tour any of their last 5-6 albums, after Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. I had no idea.

Recommend: Yes.

Leave a Reply

