Have I Got News For You: S39E01

What I watched: Have I Got News For You: S22E01 (original air date: October 19, 2001)

How I watched: YouTube

Snacks: Ham and swiss sandwich
hqdefaultSynopsis: Irreverent comedy political quiz show which highlights (and makes fun of) headline news and political gaffs of the past week.

Why I watched: As I said in this post, I thought it would be interesting to seek out episodes that aired around news events that stand out in my memory. This is the first episode that aired after the September 11 attacks in NYC.

Notes: The first thing that was noteworthy about this episode is that it is so old that it was hosted by Angus Deayton, who I only know because he hosted the first two series of one of my faves, Would I Lie to You. I never see him on TV anymore, but he hosted this show for most of its first 23 seasons. It’s difficult to imagine, because in the entire time I’ve been watching this show it has had no consistent host.

The next thing that was of interest to me is that this episode featured American ex-pat comedian, Rich Hall – who was introduced in this episode with a joke about Anthrax, a news item I had all but forgotten. As it turned out the major buzzwords in this episode were Anthrax and Osama Bin Laden, and none of it as interesting as I thought it would be.

Recommend: No, turns out this show is more interesting if you watch it in conjunction with the actual (contemporary) news.

Leave a Reply

