Family Guy: “Brian’s Got a Brand New Bag”

What I watched: Family Guy: “Brian’s Got a Brand New Bag” (original air date: Nov 8, 2009)

How I watched: Netflix

Snacks: None
fguy_briansbrandnewbag_702_1fSynopsis: When he is stood up by a young woman, Brian meets and finds that he likes her mother, the middle-aged Rita. As the relationship progresses he is mercilessly teased by the family.

Why I watched: For some reason I found myself sleepless and really wanted something light that I had some familiarity with but hadn’t seen. I’m not a Family Guy fan, but I remember watching the odd episode in my youth when the rabbit ears on my TV only picked up Fox and CTV.

In general I don’t like animated television for adults (with the exception of Bob’s Burgers which I love) because it is a bit ruder than I like.

Notes: I found this episode pretty violent, so much so that I almost turned it off. I’m speaking specifically to the scene when Peter is beating Lucy from Peanuts. It’s such a brutal beating I think all the humour is drained out of the entire reference and scenario in general. Overall the episode left a bad taste in my mouth.

Recommend: No.

Leave a Reply

