DOCTOR STRANGE (2016)

What I watched: Doctor Strange (2016)

How I watched it: 3D in cinema

Snacks: Popcorn & strawberry lemonade
doctor-strange-posterSynopsis: A gifted neurosurgeon loses the use of his hands in a car accident which leads him on a path of healing. He discovers on his journey that he is also a gifted mystic and must choose whether he uses his gifts to merely his own advantage or for the good of the world.

Why I watched: While I am a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch, I am not a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch with an American accent and I am not a fan of the Marvel universe so this movie was a bit of a tough sell for me (especially because I knew nothing about Doctor Strange going into it). But ultimately the lack of anything else to see in the theatre this week made the decision for me.

Notes: I have to offer a disclaimer here – I am a fan of 3D cinema to begin with.

That said, the graphics in this movie are stunning, I saw it in 3D and they were incredible, I only wish I could have seen it in IMAX too. I can’t remember the last time I saw graphics in movie that were so good, I thought, “I can’t remember the last time I saw graphics in a movie this good,” and also, “This is something people need to experience in the cinema,” and also, graphics that weren’t in a few sequences sprinkled in the film – but many sequences over the course of the film’s duration.

The effects in this film were such that I find myself unable to imagine a day when this stuff looks dated (even though in my heart of hearts I know this to be an inevitability).

On another note, and this is strange for Marvel movies, for such a spectacular film I think it was really undersold.

Recommend: Yes, see it in theatres if you can.

Leave a Reply

