Martha & Snoop’s Potluck Dinner Party: “Putting the Pot in Potluck”

What I watched: Martha & Snoop’s Potluck Dinner Party: “Putting the Pot in Potluck” (original air date: November 7, 2016)

How I watched: Streamed

Snacks: None

snoop-dogg-martha-stewart-show-2016-billboard-1548Synopsis: Seth Rogen, Wiz Khalifa and Ice Cube join Martha and Snoop as they compete to see who makes the better fried chicken.

Why I watched: Despite not being overly informed when it comes to either of these individuals, I have been genuinely looking forward to this show since I first saw this trailer.

Notes: This was bad, incredibly bad, even watching it un-ironically it was very, very bad. In fact, if I didn’t know better, I would not have guessed that either of these people had been on TV before.

While there was something funny and sincere about Snoop’s performance on this show, Martha was shockingly stiff (and not just her face) and unable to improvise even the slightest joke. There were so many bells and whistles and devices to make this show fun and it was simply the opposite, I can’t remember the last time I saw a show fall so flat.

With the possible (and slight) exception of Snoop, nobody on this show looked good. Rogen wasn’t terrible, but the repetitive shots of Khalifa laughing were somewhat frightening and mostly annoying, Ice Cube came off as full of himself and unfriendly and Martha! It’s possible I won’t be able to respect her at all after this, not because this show is terrible, but she makes it worse than anybody else. Maybe I didn’t know her personality and she is like this on every show, but I found the way she was unable to read an auto-cue like it was in any way natural quite baffling.

Recommend: No. I don’t even think being high would help this show.

Leave a Reply

