THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN (2016)

What I watched: The Girl on the Train (2016)

How I watched it: Cinema

Snacks: Vitamin water

girlontrainposterSynopsis: A commuter pieces together bits of a mystery from her view from the window on her train. The more she learns the more she must grapple with her own past and her potential involvement in a crime that has taken place in her old neighbourhood with the people she would have lived with if her life had stayed on the course she thinks it should have.

Why I watched: Always the last to know about anything, I knew nothing about the book this film was based on and was only going off of that which was in the trailer and intrigued me. I also really like Emily Blunt.

Notes: I loved this movie. It was so much better than I thought it would be and I was thrown after each new twist and turn in the story. All of the performances (except maybe Laura Prepon’s but then she was in it very little) were stellar.

I was also intrigued to see Justin Theroux who I haven’t (to my knowledge) seen before on the big screen or small, but who is famously married to Jennifer Aniston (yes, I’m terrible). He was great.

I honestly can only think of good things to say about this movie, perhaps I’m in that delicious afterglow of having seen something good and thought it was even better than it was.

Whatever state I’m in, it’s one of those movies that you have to see again when you know the ending because that will change the entire film. I’m looking forward to my second viewing, but I’ll give myself some time to forget it (if I can).

Recommend: Yes.

Leave a Reply

