Vicious: “Ballroom”

What I watched: Vicious: “Ballroom” (original air date: June 15, 2015)

How I watched: Streamed

Snacks: 1/2 bagel with cream cheese
mezzanine_318Synopsis: Ash and his new girlfriend Jess have joined a ballroom course and the entire gang decide to spice up their own lives by joining as well.

Why I watched: I watched the first series of this show when it aired in 2013, I had no idea that it had a second series, so I’m belatedly catching it up.

Notes: The more I watch this show again the more I am reminded of When the Whistle Blows, the fictional show-within-a-show from Extras which I think Ricky Gervais uses as a device to criticize all he thinks is bad about the broad British sitcom. This show is as broad as it gets, and sometimes I feel a little guilty about watching it as a result. It’s definitely the two lead performers that I stick around for.

Watching it now though, I also find it cathartic to see Iwan Rheon’s character as the butt of so many jokes and to see him put in such silly situations when he was so scary and cruel on Game of Thrones.

The new actress in the series I know only from Little Dorrit (a miniseries I’ve actually been thinking a lot about recently) where she played a very sad character who I don’t have fond memories of. She seems like an odd character device in this series.

There was one part of this episode that actually made me laugh and it’s where Ash mentions casually that both his parents are in prison, and suddenly get’s very self-conscious about it, “It’s not that weird,” to which Stuart says in perfect comic timing, “It’s fucking weird.” I’m sure it was just Jacobi saying those words that tickled me in the right way.

On a more spoilery note, I absolutely did not see the marriage proposal coming. Mostly because I forgot that Stuart and Freddie weren’t already married.

Recommend: Not really.

Leave a Reply

